News from this week

Doom metallers from CULTED (Canada) not-so-far-ago released their new full-lenght album via Relapse Records. As the band says on aour beloved Facebook:

'Oblique to All Paths' is available worldwide TODAY!!!
Grab exclusive music and merch items at Relapse Mailorder: http://bit.ly/Culted
Find the album at a local North American record store here: http://recordstoreday.com/Item/9005571120
Purchase on iTunes: http://georiot.co/ObliqueiTunes
Purchase on Amazon.com: http://georiot.co/ObliqueAmz
Stream and Purchase at Bandcamp: http://culted.bandcamp.com/


From SUN ))) and ULVER (they released a split on 180g vinyl):

'Oslo, Norway, August 10th, 2008. Following their 200th gig, playing before 2000 people at the Øya festival, SUNN O))) teamed up with Norwegian legends ULVER at their Oslo studio, Crystal Canyon. They recorded three "live in improvisation" pieces, starting that evening and ending at dawn, as Northern sunlight seeped in through the windows.
 "We were sitting in the console room, early in the morning, listening to the takes. Someone said, 'ah, sunrise over Crystal Canyon,' as if the night had been a dark one. We all laughed and Greg proposed it as a title. In that setting it sounded perfect. The boys had mentioned wanting the music to orient towards the light, like some lost pilgrim stretching before the sun. We kept that mental picture for the processing." – Kristoffer Rygg
 That take became the album's opening piece, "Let there be light," which builds up from silence and darkness and proceeds – ceremoniously, coruscating – O'Malley and O'Sullivan creating the backdrop for Rygg's Basso Profondo chants. The music unfolds over eight minutes before reaching a crescendo of bass and brass, introducing both Anderson and ULVER as we know them. The Sunn has risen.
 "Western horn" accelerates on a single and austere note of sustained bass and low end, evolving gradually into a haunted soundscape. Crying violins, clusters of Fender Rhodes, guitar pickups, and metal plate drones are gradually layered beneath Anderson's augmented bass feedback.
 "Eternal return" introduces Rygg singing a lyric evoking ancient Greece, Egypt and the Biblical lands. The song is palindromic, echoing the lyric, beginning and ending with the same bass line and musical pattern, though the guitars are ultimately reversed as the song implodes upon itself.
 Terrestrials is  three movements which are fluid like the flow of magma beneath the Earth's crust, sonically uninhibited, unpredictably cosmic, haunting and stirring yet simultaneously ceremonious and beautiful.'

More info here: Southern Lord


From DIRGE (France):

After months of waiting, we are pleased to announce the launching of our new album « Hyperion » scheduled for March 14 (April 15 for North America).
It will be released through Debemur Morti Productions under three different formats : digipak CD, digital and 2x12" gatefold LP (with an alternative tracklisting for this version).
Mixed by Marc T. and mastered by Nicolas Dick (Kill The Thrill), this sixth album features vocalists Tara Vanflower (Lycia), Milena Rousseau (Miroda) and Nicolas Dick.
Cover rust crafted by long time collaborator (and ex-Proton Burst) Axël Kriloff.

Tracklisting is as follows :

The vinyl version will include a different tracklisting with two bonus tracks : "Distance" and "Absence"
More to come soon.'

Listen to their music here.


Romanian funeral doom metallers DESCENT INTO DESPAIR will release their new album 'The Bearer of All Storms' on 28th January. It will contain 7 tracks, divided into 90 minutes of music on two CDs. You can look for it in the label Domestic Genocide Records.

Check out band's music here.


VAINAJA is the finnish doom/death metal band from Finland, who just sign up the papers with Svart Records. This label will release their first album called ' Kadotetut' on spring (more info soon). The band exists since 2011, and 'till today released only a single.

Check out their music here.


Russian WINDBRUCH (depressive black metal) will release on 1st of February their second album called 'No Stars, Only Full Dark'. It will contain 7 tracks, lasting around 49 minutes. The band will released it by themself.

Check out their melancholic sounds here.

No comments:

Post a Comment